Week 10: Tuesday, August 1, 2017

It is hard to believe that it is already August. This summer has flown by.  Having started working for Senator Rush in May, the past two and a half months have been an absolutely incredible experience.  As I’ve hoped to capture on this blog, this summer in the State House has given me a front-row seat into what it is like to work for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and to see how an elected official, like Senator Rush, serves his district.  I could not have hoped for a better placement and I am so thankful for the opportunity to have been a Rappaport Fellow and to have worked on this project with the goal of helping veterans.  Senator Rush and his team have been gracious mentors.  I have appreciated how much they included me on the day to day activities of the office and how they have given me the opportunity to work on a project that will hopefully help veterans in not only Massachusetts but in other states as well.

As I’ve done for the other sections, I have continued to read about Mid-West veteran’s benefits. This will be the biggest section I’ve tackled so far with a total of twelve states. The twelve states include: (1) North Dakota; (2) South Dakota; (3) Nebraska; (4) Kansas; (5) Minnesota; (6) Iowa; (7) Missouri; (8) Wisconsin; (9); Illinois; (10) Indiana; (11) Michigan; (12) and Ohio. I’m interested to see how this region, which in many ways will be a combination of the other regions I’ve analyzed, with both rural and urban areas, compares to Massachusetts.

Leave a Reply

